HSRP Pitfall

Ah well during my changes to our VPN deployment I got into a nice pitfall with HSRP. To define our default router, we use HSRP Tracking which works quite fine but on one location I accidentally forgot to change the tracking onto the new VPN tunnel while I deleted the old one. Not that bad since the traffic took the second path we have. So I went onto the router to change the tracking and well here we go.

Basically the configuration was like this:

R6#sh run int fa 0/0
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
 ip address 116.1.1.1 255.255.255.0
 duplex auto
 speed auto
 standby 1 track Tunnel10 25
 standby 1 ip 116.1.1.3
 standby 1 priority 120

Nothing special I deleted the Tunnel 10 before and added the new one, but as I wanted to delete the old tracking statement the router didn’t let me do so..

R6(config)#int fa 0/0
R6(config-if)#no standby 1 track Tunnel10 25
                               ^
% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

Thank you Cisco, I can not delete a tracking statement out of a HSRP configuration if the tracked interface is not there anymore lol. So create the tunnel 10, delete the statement and delete the tunnel again, yeehaa…

R6(config)#int tu 10
R6(config-if)#int fa0/0
R6(config-if)#no standby 1 track Tunnel10 25
R6(config-if)#exit
R6(config)#no int tu 10

I first thought that might be a bug within the IOS but its not, I tested it on two routers and a switch with different IOS versions and well, its the same on all three..

2 comments

Leave a Reply

